1. Kansas State University
  2. »K-State Research and Extension
  3. »KSRE Tuesday Letter
  4. »College of Agriculture Diversity Programs Office Update

KSRE Tuesday Letter

Other publications

K-State Research and Extension
123 Umberger Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-3401

September 24, 2019

College of Agriculture Diversity Programs Office Update

Submitted by College of Agriculture Diversity Programs Office

Greetings! We hope all is well during this fall semester. The Diversity Programs Office (DPO) has been busy and continues to amass success.

This week, our K-State Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS) is celebrating MANRRS week from September 23-27. We are hoping for an amazing and successful turnout. Please join us as we celebrate 2019 MANRRS Week with our theme #IMPACT. Schedule is below:

Monday: MANRRS Awareness Day/Membership Drive, Waters Hall Lobby, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Tuesday: Panda Express Fundraiser, K-State Student Union, 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. & volunteering at All University Career Fair, Bramlage Coliseum, 11 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Wednesday: MANRRS Corporate Showcase, Waters Hall 231, 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. – THANKS to our corporate partners.

Thursday: Smithfield Corporate Visit, Junction City, 9 a.m. - 11 a.m. Meet in Waters Hall 139, 8:30 a.m.

Friday: K-State MANRRS Impact Day, Soles4Souls: In partnership with Kappa Pi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., in the K-State Student Union, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. Please bring gently used shoes to donate. For more information, please visit their website, https://soles4souls.org/about-us/.

Congratulations to Lonnie Hobbs, Jr., Department of Agriculture Economics doctorate student and College of Agriculture DPO graduate assistant, as he receives the 2019 American Royal/Seaboard Foods Scholarship this week. He will participate in the American Royal 3 day scholarship/community service session in Kansas City, MO. The session dates are September 26-29, 2019. Other 2019 K-State College of AG American Royal Scholars/Seaboard Food Scholars are Hannah Frobose, Manhattan KS; Taylor Nikkel, Maple Hill, KS; and Katelyn Pinkston, Manhattan, KS. For more information, you may visit http://www.americanroyal.com/educational-programming/scholarships/royal-scholars/.

To finish out the 2019 MANRRS week, we are pleased to co-host the Fourth Annual George Washington Carver (GWC) Symposium and Awards Dinner on September 29, sponsored by Kansas Center for Agriculture Resources and the Environment (KCARE). Presented in collaboration with the George Washington Carver Birthplace Association (CBA), the non-profit cooperating association to the National Park Service (NPS) at George Washington Carver National Monument, Kansas State University College of Agriculture (COA) and the COA Diversity Programs Office. The event includes a symposium at 3 p.m., fireside chat with 2019 student award recipients at 4:30 p.m., and the dinner and awards banquet at 6:30 p.m. The George Washington Carver Symposium and Awards Dinner is to honor the contributions that Dr. George Washington Carver had, and still has, on all of us today. We also use this event to congratulate the winners of the George Washington Carver (GWC) Distinguish Service and Innovation presented to community leaders who exemplify the traits of George Washington Carver.

The students are representatives of the Carver Legacy Schools that include Simpson College, Iowa State University, Kansas State University and Tuskegee University. They will receive the GWC Spirit of Innovation & Service Awards of which our very own Raymond Thomas, second year AG Economics Masters student and MANRRS chapter member, will receive the award representing Kansas State University. Dr. Ernie Minton will bring greetings and we thank KCARE for serving as this year’s event sponsor. Additionally, we are pleased that Armogen Tre Walker, K-State College of Agriculture, Agriculture Finance graduate and former K-State Football captain, will serve as our Keynote speaker. He will speak on the theme, “The 21st Century Impact of Dr. George Washington Carver.” It promises to be an event for all of us to be proud. Thanks to our planning committee for your support. The 2019 Award recipients are:

The George Washington Carver Distinguished Service & Innovation Awards - Professionals
Jettie Condray - Historian Award
Curtis McClinton, Jr. - Civic Leader Award
Curtis Pitts - Community Leader Award
Rina D. Neal - Education Award

The George Washington Carver Spirit of Innovation & Service Awards – Students
Cody Acevedo, Iowa State University
Raymond Thomas, Kansas State University
Stephanie Twohey, Simpson College
Tiiwon Siaway, Tuskegee University

Thanks to the DPO staff, McKenzie Stevens, Summer Smades, Amelia Scott-Sanjur and Lonnie Hobbs, Jr., for your work in making our programs successful.

Please continue to look for more diversity events as we continue to advertise. We appreciate your support. For more information about upcoming events, or to collaborate with the DPO, please call 785-532-5793 or contact Dr. Zelia Wiley, Assistant Dean, zwiley@ksu.edu.