1. Kansas State University
  2. »K-State Research and Extension
  3. »KSRE Tuesday Letter
  4. »Shout Out: Extension Master Gardener Program Team

KSRE Tuesday Letter

Other publications

K-State Research and Extension
123 Umberger Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-3401

September 15, 2020

Shout Out: Extension Master Gardener Program Team

Submitted by Gregg Hadley

This week's Shout Out is sent by Cheryl Boyer, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist of Nursery Crop Production & Marketing, and Interim Extension Master Gardener Coordinator for the state of Kansas, and is sent to the Extension Master Gardener Program Team. Cheryl writes:

Last week we successfully launched the first ever online KSRE Master Gardener basic training program with a statewide cohort of 248 trainees from 33 local units (18 counties + 15 districts). A highlight of our Welcome and Orientation session was an agent roundtable and it was truly delightful to see the faces of our colleagues from across Kansas participating. This large transdisciplinary team has geared up to learn our way through this innovative program delivery method, build strong local programs, and invest in communities through the EMG program. I am so proud of everyone who stepped up to lead a group of trainees despite many challenges.

Our leadership team has dug deep into building online platforms and it truly could not have happened without the detail-driven guidance of Brooke Garcia—Training Support Specialist, Department of Entomology; and clear-headed decision making of Frannie Miller—Pesticide Safety and Integrated Pest Management Coordinator, Department of Entomology. The Horticulture Program Focus Team has also played a pivotal role with the following people stepping up to teach sessions: Ariel Whitely-Noll (Shawnee County), Tom Buller (Douglas County), Dennis Patton (Johnson County), Charlie Barden (Department of Horticulture and Natural Resources), Jason Griffin (Department of Horticulture and Natural Resources), Zach Hoppenstedt (Johnson County), Raymond Cloyd (Department of Entomology), Frannie Miller (Department of Entomology), Judy O’Mara (Department of Plant Pathology), Rebecca McMahon (Sedgwick County), Brooke Garcia (Department of Entomology), Gregg Eyestone (Riley County), and Drew Ricketts (Department of Horticulture and Natural Resources).

The team from News Media Services helped get the word out: Eric Atkinson (Radio), and Pat Melgares (Public Information Officer). Mandy Wilson in the bookstore and mail center and Donna Sheffield in publishing have been instrumental with delivering educational materials. And of course, Ward Upham, former EMG Coordinator, has provided a steady hand in previous years of programming and welcome guidance during his phased retirement. Though he is not part of KSRE, my spouse, Russell Boyer (Department of Management, College of Business), has been my in-house (literally) tech support and KSU Canvas and Mediasite wizard. In addition to the folks mentioned above, team members have also stepped up to serve by hosting and moderating sessions (so far): Dennis Patton (Johnson County), Brooke Garcia (Department of Entomology), Shannon Blocker (Pottawatomie County), Cassie Homan (Post Rock District), Karen Bailey (Johnson County), Emily Bennigsdorf (Thomas County), Ron Honig (Wild West District), Ariel Whitely-Noll (Shawnee County), and Tom Buller (Douglas County).

These brave souls have stepped up to lead trainees, help in their local units, and mentor other KSRE agents—we are grateful to have them on the team:

• Brown County: Matt Young and Charlotte Vandiver
• Central Kansas District: Jason Graves
• Chisholm Trail District: Tony Whitehair
• Clark County: Kalee Clemens
• Coffey County: Darl Henson
• Cowley County: Kelsey Nordyke and Becky Reid
• Doniphan County: Kathy Tharman
• Douglas County: Tom Buller and Sharon Ashworth
• Ford County: Andrea Burns
• Frontier District: Ryan Schaub
• Golden Prairie District: Clint Bain
• Grant County: Elizabeth Kissick
• Hodgeman County: DeWayne Craghead
• Johnson County: Dennis Patton and Karen Bailey
• Leavenworth County: Karol Lohman and Tina Packard
• Marais des Cygnes District: Katelyn Barthol
• McPherson County: Shad Marston
• Meade County: Elly Sneath and Mattie Huelskamp
• Meadowlark District: David Hallauer
• Phillips-Rooks District: Rachael Boyle
• Post Rock District: Cassie Homan
• Pottawatomie County: Shannon Blocker
• Riley County: Gregg Eyestone
• Rolling Prairie District: Richard Fechter
• Southwind District: Krista Harding and Leslie Kidwell
• Stanton County: Kayla Hook
• Sunflower District: Melinda Daily, Karen Nelson, and Heather Foxworthy
• Thomas County: Emily Bennigsdorf
• Twin Creeks District: Alyssa Rippe-May
• Wabaunsee County: Stephanie Melhus
• West Plains District: Carol Ann Crouch
• Wild West District: Kylee Harrison and Ron Honig
• Wildcat District: Jesse Gilmore
• Wyandotte County: Lynn Loughary

Extension Master Gardener program Team, thanks for all you do for the people we serve, your colleagues, and K-State Research and Extension.

If you know of a colleague or team of colleagues who deserve a Shout Out, please send their name(s) and the reason for the Shout Out to ghadley@ksu.edu.