1. Kansas State University
  2. »K-State Research and Extension
  3. »KSRE Tuesday Letter
  4. »4th Annual George Washington Carver Symposium and Awards Dinner a success!

KSRE Tuesday Letter

Other publications

K-State Research and Extension
123 Umberger Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-3401

October 1, 2019

4th Annual George Washington Carver Symposium and Awards Dinner a success!

Submitted by Dr. Zelia Wiley

Thank YOU to all who made the 4th Annual George Washington Carver Symposium and Awards Dinner a success! The event was held on September 29, 3 – 8 p.m. in the K-State Alumni Center Ballroom. It was enjoyed by all. Our student awardees were excellent during the Fireside Chat and enlightened us with their current and future goals and how Dr. Carver has paved the way. Of course, Raymond Thomas, graduate student in Agriculture Economics, represented K-State, MANRRS chapter and the college in a meaningful way as our 2019 Award recipient. We are also very proud of the K-State MANRRS chapter and the Delta Chapter – Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc, for the all-round support of the day. Special thanks to Armogen Tre Walker, who inspired us all through song and message! It was an enlightening speech!

The 2019 Award recipents are below:

The George Washington Carver Distinguished Service & Innovation Awards - Professionals
Jettie Condray - Historian Award
Curtis McClinton, Jr. - Civic Leader Award
Curtis Pitts - Community Leader Award
Rina D. Neal - Education Award

The George Washington Carver Spirit of Innovation & Service Awards -Students
Cody Acevedo, Iowa State University
Raymond Thomas, Kansas State University
Stephanie Twohey, Simpson College
Tiiwon Siaway, Tuskegee University

Thanks to our committees below and special acknowledgement to my DPO staff; Lonnie Hobbs, Jr. , Amelia Scott-Sanjur, McKenzie Stevens and Summer Smades. You are very appreciated!!

Planning Committee
Don Boggs
Carl Butler
Olga Bolden-Tiller
Jodi Burns
Theressa Cooper
Dan Devlin
Lonnie Hobbs, Jr.
Walter Hill
Walter Lain
Heidi Levine
Kim Mailes
Thomas Phillips
Zelia Wiley
Luther Williams
Paxton Williams

Special Thanks to:

Carver Legacy Schools – Simpson College, Iowa State University,
Tuskegee University and Kansas State University

K-State MANRRS Chapter
(Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences)
Melissa Harvey
K-State Communications and Marketing
College of Agriculture Academic Programs Staff
Diversity Programs Office Staff – College of Agriculture
Friendship House, Wamego, KS
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
Alpha Beta Sigma Chapter of Greater Kansas City
Delta Chapter – Kansas State University